Skip to main content


CENSE is organized according to the following governance structure:

Director: Nuno Videira


Management Board

Composed by the director and the leaders of management processes
Rui Ferreira dos Santos
Nuno Videira
João Pedro Gouveia
Michiel Daam


Research Area Coordinators  

Paula Antunes, Ecological Economics and Environmental Management
Júlia Seixas, Energy and Climate
Eduardo Mateus, Bioresources and Green Technologies
António Câmara, Computation for Sustainability
Margarida Ribau Teixeira, Sustainable Water Sanitation, Waste and Resources Recovery

Scientific Committee: composed by all integrated PhD members.  


Support Services

Lidia Lins, Science Management & Communication
Filomena Gomes, Administrative Assistant


External Advisory Board

Brian Ó Gallachóir, University College Cork, Ireland.  
Joachim Spangenberg, Helmholtz Centre for Environment Research UFZ & SERI Sustainable Europe Research Institute, Germany. 
Lisbeth M. Ottosen, Department of Civil Engineering, Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Denmark.

Along with this governance structure, CENSE operates following a starfish model approach, where each process, research area and member, can function independently, while interacting together to form a functioning and resilient organization. CENSE regulation is available here