Skip to main content


CENSE is organized according to the following governance structure.

Director:  Nuno Videira


Management Board:  

Nuno Videira, Research and scientific production

Maria Rosa Paiva, Advanced training

Rita Lopes, International networks

Paula Guedes, Societal impact and knowledge transfer

Representative of PhD Student Members: Miguel Macias Sequeira


Research Area Coordinators:  

Paula Antunes, Ecological Economics and Environmental Management

Patricia Fortes, Energy and Climate

Nazaré Couto, Bioresources and Green Technologies

António Câmara, Computation for Sustainability

Margarida Ribau Teixeira, Sustainable Water Sanitation, Waste and Resources Recovery


Scientific Committee:

Composed by all Integrated PhD Members.


Communications and Support Services:

Filomena Gomes, Administrative Assistant

Ana Vieira, Science Communication Manager


External Advisory Board:

Brian Ó Gallachóir, University College Cork, Ireland.  

Joachim Spangenberg, Helmholtz Centre for Environment Research UFZ & SERI Sustainable Europe Research Institute, Germany. 

Lisbeth M. Ottosen, Department of Civil Engineering, Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Denmark.

Along with this governance structure, CENSE operates following a starfish model approach, where each process, research area and member, can function independently, while interacting together to form a functioning and resilient organization. CENSE regulation is available here